Mission and Vision Statements

The mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination.


The vision of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure a society in which all individuals have equal rights without discrimination based on race.


The NAACP Colorado Springs Branch was chartered in November 1918 at Payne Chapel AME Church.


The following statement of objectives is found on the first page of the NAACP Constitution – the principal objectives of the Association shall be:

  • To ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of all citizens

  • To achieve equality of rights and eliminate race prejudice among the citizens of the United States

  • To remove all barriers of racial discrimination through democratic processes

  • To seek enactment and enforcement of federal, state, and local laws securing civil rights

  • To inform the public of the adverse effects of racial discrimination and to seek its elimination

  • To educate persons as to their constitutional rights and to take all lawful action to secure the exercise thereof, and to take any other lawful action in furtherance of these objectives, consistent with the NAACP’s Articles of Incorporation and this Constitution.

Branch Election Results


Angela N. Stevens – a long time leader in the NAACP – has been elected as Colorado Springs Branch President, making her only the 4th woman to serve in this role in the more than 100-year history of the local branch. 

This is a complete list of those elected on November 22, 2020 by the General Membership of the NAACP Colorado Springs Branch:

  • Angela N. Stevens, President

  • Walt Johnson, 1st Vice President

  • Rev. Alycia Erickson, Secretary

  • Frank D. Lytle, Treasurer

  • Nigel Grant, Executive Committee Member at Large

  • Dr. Nancy Dawson, Executive Committee Member at Large

  • Tiffany Jones, Executive Committee Member at Large


More About Our Branch President Angela N. Stevens



A Licensed Professional Counselor, employed by the Colorado Dept. of Corrections, President Stevens is known and respected for her unwavering pursuit of civil rights and social justice in our community and for her strong knowledge of NAACP policy, procedure, and advocacy.


“My goal is to help restore the Colorado Springs Branch to its role as the premiere civil rights organization in our community,” said President Stevens. “I want people of color and others who care about, and are affected by, justice – or the lack of it -- to know that we are here and continuing the work that so many freedom fighters before us started.


“What the year 2020 has taught us is that we must continue fighting for equality because we see the glaring disparities in public safety and in the justice system, rampant disparities in health care, disparities in environmental justice, in education and in economic opportunity.”


President Stevens is a former Secretary of the NAACP Colorado Springs Branch (2007—2011) and a former Secretary of the NAACP Colorado Montana Wyoming State Conference (2008 --- 2011). She served for many years as Co-Chair of the Education Committee for the Branch and has been a key planner for NAACP events from Jubilee Day to Founders Day to the annual Freedom Fund Gala event. She has previously served the Branch as a Voting Delegate to the NAACP National Convention and NAACP Midwest Region IV Convention.


A native of Lakewood, NJ, President Stevens obtained a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Georgian Court College, later renamed Georgian Court University (Class of 1995). After college, she joined the United States Army serving from March 1996 – March 2002 and attaining the rank of E5 (Sergeant). She decided to make Colorado Springs her home. She returned to school in 2003 to obtain her graduate degree in Educational Counseling MA Ed. from the University of Phoenix. Since then, she has worked in school systems, community health centers, and in acute treatment units, working with people who suffer from chronic mental illness. 


President Stevens is currently the Mental Health Supervisor at La Vista Correctional Facility a part of the Colorado Department of Corrections. Her community support and civic engagement in the Colorado Springs area also includes Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated – Iota Beta Omega Chapter where she served one term as President, three terms as Vice President and one term as Ivy Leaf Reporter over her 12 years with the organization. She currently serves as Secretary of the Colorado Prince Hall Foundation (2009 – Present), and is a member of the Association of Black Psychologists, Denver – Rocky Mountain Chapter.